Skip to content

Discovering the Social Media Classroom

December 18, 2009

I get inspired when I find new resources. Last night, while reading B.L. Ochman’s blog, I followed a link to Howard Rheingold and am so excited by the ideas generated because of that one simple action.

Rheingold is credited with coining the term “virtual communities” and is a prominent communications scholar. A 2008 winner in the MacArthur Foundation’s Digital Media and Learning competition, Rheingold worked with a team of developers, led by Sam Rose, to create and launch the Social Media Classroom. The SMC was created to be a “public resource of knowledge and relationships among all who are interested in the use of social media in learning” – it’s an incredible wealth of information, resources and great minds that is hard to sum up in a short post. I am just sitting down to explore and each nugget of information is like opening a present. I want to share here and plan to post as I learn more. For now, I am just starting to explore and trying to digest some information down to a cohesive idea or set of ideas.  

Another thought leader I’d like to explore further, that I was pointed to from Rheingold’s Twitter stream: Phillip Agre. I read his thoughts on finding your public voice. It really motivated me to commit to regularly posting on this blog and finding my own voice. Check out the article when you have a chance, it is well worth the time spent.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 18, 2009 6:49 pm

    Howard is a hero of mine – he inspired me from the day i read his first book, and i’ve had the good fortune to interview him and get to know him a little.

    So happy you were inspired too!
    BL

    • tradeandtryon permalink
      December 20, 2009 10:02 pm

      I look forward to reading some of his books and learning more. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

